Darkness

A cloud of unknowing, the divine ascent

 

Following the way of Jacob, Israel

 

Rung by rung, his handprints and mine

 

Mindful in the morning light

 

Mindless in the deepening night, and mad

 

I find a self I never knew

 

In darkness…in the deep of night

 

In silence, but for Ruha whispering

 

A forgotten name whistling in the ear

 

Gentle, ephemeral brushing through my hair

 

The wind had the number every strand

 

Darkness…I remember you

 

Descending like the shroud

 

Grieving in the cold, and lonely places

 

In the secret chamber of my heart

 

Covered and clouded, and washed in the rain

 

Buried and reborn

 

Darkness…I was a fool, I never knew you

 

Fragile…I could not bear you

 

Restless…I would not endure you.

 

There is a ladder; on a tower, atop its parapet

 

In a city, by a vineyard where old drunkards sleep

 

Lying naked beneath the sun

 

There is a vine, upon a trellis

 

Roots stretched far into the earth

 

In the dark cool soil that is life

 

There is fruit upon the vine

 

The apex of ascent, pluck it

 

Be plucked, taste of it, and change

Leave a Reply

