A Homily – John 6:51 – 58 ©

The Gospel According to John – 2017.06.18

 

 

The Sacrament

 The eucharist is not magical food.

 

Eating the bread and drinking the wine does not confer the gift of eternal life,

 

Christians do a disservice to the memory of Jesus when they use the eucharist to divide people from one another, splitting them into groups of insiders and outsiders.

 

The eucharist is not the flesh and blood of Jesus. Transubstantiation, consubstantiation, these are ridiculous arguments, based on false premises, and a fundamentally flawed view of the world, cosmologically, soteriologically and teleologically.

 

The eucharist may only be seen as a sacrament insofar as it fulfills the ministry of Jesus, which is always the fostering of hope, through the loving service we provide to one another.

 

The bread and the wine are the flesh and blood of the church, literally feeding the members through the gifts of the members, shared at the common table.

 

The church is the body of Christ, and the communal sharing, the gift of bread, that is the sacrament. It is the visible sign of the sacred mystery of God’s love for us.

 

  

The Bread of Life

Jesus said to the Jewish crowds:

 

“I am the living bread that came down from heaven; whoever eats this bread will live forever; and the bread that I will give is my flesh for the life of the world.”

 

The Jews quarreled among themselves, saying, “How can this man give us his flesh to eat?”

 

Jesus said to them, “Amen, amen, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you do not have life within you. Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him on the last day.

 

For my flesh is true food, and my blood is true drink. Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood remains in me and I in him. Just as the living Father sent me and I have life because of the Father, so also the one who feeds on me will have life because of me.

 

This is the bread that came down from heaven.

 

Unlike your ancestors who ate and still died, whoever eats this bread will live forever.”

 

 

3rd Sunday in Ordinary Time

Leave a Reply

